Teen Arrested After Colliding With Officer


How can a DUI impact your teen’s life?


Teen Hits Police Vehicle to Avoid Traffic Stop

According to a San Antonio Express-News report, a teen driver was arrested after fleeing a traffic stop, only to strike another officer’s vehicle in an intersection.

The incident occurred at around 1:45 a.m. on Monday, July 31, when police say a 19-year-old driver was headed North on Fredricksburg Road near Balcones Heights. The driver was speeding and driving without headlights, and the police officers who were patrolling for DWI signaled her to pull over. Instead, she flew by them only to strike another unit with her vehicle, sending one officer to the hospital with minor injuries. The woman was arrested on suspicion of a DWI.

Did You Know?

A teen who is 17 years or older can be fined up to $2,000 and face up to 180 days in jail for a third DUI offense in Texas.

Underage Drinking and Driving in Texas

While zero-tolerance policies and strict underage drinking and driving laws have had a positive effect on underage drinking and driving trends across the United States, Texas still ranks as the 8th worst state for this issue. While it is not uncommon for high school students to enjoy a drink under their guardian’s supervision, driving after having any amount of alcohol in their system is one of the most reckless and illegal actions a teen can take.

Consequences of a DUI

Imagine the following scenario. You just enjoyed a nice family cookout, had a beer or two with your parent’s permission, and now you’re on your way home. Suddenly, you hear sirens blaring and see bright flashing lights, and a pit forms in your stomach – the police are pulling you over.

Your teen can be arrested and charged with a DUI for any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. They do not need to be at 0.08% BAC or higher. Additionally, the consequences of a DUI are severe and can be far-reaching for your teen.

First-time offense under 0.08% BAC:

  • Fine up to $500
  • 60-day suspension of your license
  • Mandatory community service between 20 and 40 hours
  • Mandatory alcohol awareness classes

17 and older first-time offense 0.08% BAC or higher:

  • Jail time of 3 to 180 days
  • Fines up to $2,000
  • 90-day to 1-year license suspension

Aside from criminal consequences, a DUI charge can interfere with other areas of your teen’s life. A criminal charge can affect your teen’s future education and current employment due to driving restrictions. It is also damaging to your teen’s reputation, which may bar them from future employment opportunities as employers use online resources in hiring more frequently now than in the past. Additionally, if your teen injures someone while intoxicated, they will not only have to bear the emotional weight of that decision but could also face a civil lawsuit as a result.

Protect Your Teen

The law office of Carabin Shaw does not condone underage drunk driving. However, we are dedicated to protecting the rights of those who have been wrongfully convicted of a DUI. If your teen is facing DUI charges in San Antonio, the best way you can protect their future is by hiring the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Criminal Defense Attorneys Serving San Antonio

Many parents erroneously believe there is no way to fight a DUI charge, but this is not true. If your teen is facing a DUI, contact the Carabin Shaw defense attorneys with thirty years of experience representing DWI/DUI matters in San Antonio and the surrounding area today at 800-862-1260 or via live chat. We look forward to serving you.

Contact Information