First DWI Offense in Texas – What You Should Know
Gregg Simmons, a former KSAT News anchor, appeared in court yesterday for a DWI charge, according to a San Antonio Express-News report. The former news anchor was pulled over by police and arrested for reckless driving on January 27, 2023, after they received reports of a driver crawling down the road at 20 MPH and making frequent stops. The report further detailed that he struggled through a field sobriety test and was unable to recite the alphabet when requested. Vials of blood were drawn as the officers were unable to retrieve a breath sample.
Did You Know?
The first offense for driving while intoxicated is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine not to exceed $2,000.
Civil Consequences of a First Offense
Texas law is very serious about DWI charges, even for first-time offenders with no criminal record. Jail time and fines are not the only consequences of a DWI charge, even if the blood alcohol content of the driver was just 0.08 or higher. Drivers charged with a DWI can be ordered to attend a state-approved rehab center for treatment, and many are also ordered to take a DWI course within 180 days of being convicted. Failure to follow through with these activities can result in license suspension.
You can legally refuse to take a breathalyzer test in Texas. However, if you refuse the test, your license will be immediately suspended for 180 days. In order to have your license reinstated, you must pay the required fees, including:
- $125.00 for reinstatement
- $3,000 civil penalty for the first DWI in a 36-month period.
These punishments are only if no one was injured as a result of the offense and if there was no minor in the vehicle with you. Additionally, BACs of 0.15 or higher have much steeper civil and criminal penalties.
What to Do If You Are Arrested for a First-Time DWI
Driving drunk is a serious crime. However, not all hope is lost if you have been convicted of a DWI for the first time. DWI law is very nuanced, so even if the odds seem stacked against you, remember that your case is unique, and it’s not guaranteed that you will lose. It is recommended that you hire the services of expert legal counsel to help you with your 1st-time DWI charge in order to receive the best outcome available to you.
DWI Attorneys in San Antonio
The legal experts at the Carabin Shaw have thirty years of experience representing those charged with a DWI/DUI in Texas. If you have been convicted of a DWI charge in San Antonio or the surrounding area, contact our firm today at 800-862-1260 for your free case evaluation.