New Mexico Trucking Laws and Regulations | Las Cruces Attorney
While the vast majority of truck drivers who pass through Las Cruces every day are responsible, it only takes one small mistake to change a family’s life forever. Commercial trucking laws and regulations exist to protect drivers like you from a dangerous collision. When truck drivers and their employers fail to follow even one of these regulations, the consequences can be fatal.
Contact New Mexico attorney James Shaw to determine if your trucking accident was caused by a violation of commercial driving safety regulations. If your injuries were caused by the negligence of another, the responsible party is legally liable for your damages. You and your family deserve compensation for your physical injuries, pain and suffering, and medical bills. With the help of a Las Cruces truck accident lawyer, you can hold negligent drivers and employers accountable.Trucking in New Mexico: Federal and State Regulations
Because commercial trucking is an interstate industry, federal law dictates most trucking laws and regulations. Like other states, commercial truck drivers in New Mexico must meet the following criteria set forth by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration:
- Commercial drivers must undergo pre-employment drug and alcohol testing.
- 18-wheelers and other commercial trucks must meet minimum maintenance requirements.
- Commercial drivers must take a 30-minute break during the first 8 hours on duty.
- Commercial drivers can drive up to 11 hours hauling cargo only after a minimum of 10 hours off duty.
- Commercial drivers will never exceed 14 consecutive hours driving with or without cargo.
- Commercial drivers are not permitted to drive after 60 hours in 7 consecutive days.
- Commercial drivers are not permitted to drive after 70 hours in 8 consecutive days.
- If a commercial driver meets the maximum 70 hours of driving, they will not resume driving until a consecutive 34 hours off duty.
The benefit of hiring a trucking injury attorney in Las Cruces is that these attorneys are more likely to be familiar with specific New Mexico trucking guidelines. New Mexico clearly stipulates the following state trucking laws and regulations:
- Drivers of commercial vehicles must have a valid Commercial Driver’s License.
- All commercial drivers must be at least 18 years of age.
- Commercial drivers transporting hazardous material must be at least 21 years of age.
- Drivers transporting hazardous material must secure an endorsement and undergo training.
- New Mexico requires both commercial drivers and their employers to keep detailed records of driving logs, inspections, employee backgrounds, and other important records.
In some cases, even though it may seem the commercial truck driver was acting responsibly, upon further inspection it comes to light that the accident could have been avoided if the driver had met all federal and state safety regulations. Work with your lawyer to confirm that the commercial truck driver involved in your accident was following all the necessary guidelines.Trust New Mexico Attorney James Shaw with Your Truck Accident Claim
In order to present an effective trucking accident claim, you need a Las Cruces truck accident lawyer with extensive knowledge of New Mexico trucking laws and regulations. As one of the premier trucking injury attorneys in Las Cruces, attorney James Shaw can offer accident victims and their families high-quality representation customized for individual clients’ needs. His nearly three decades of legal experience and “client first” philosophy have earned him the reputation of standing up to big trucking and their insurance companies.
If you would like to learn more about James Shaw and his professional excellence, visit his page. When you are ready to schedule a no-cost, no-obligation initial consultation, contact our customer service representatives toll-free today at 1-800-555-0101.