Driver Dies On North Side After Hitting a Curb, Losing Control
According to a KSAT News report, a young driver is dead after a single-vehicle accident on the North Side of San Antonio early Sunday morning.
Police reported the driver was heading North on Redland and Green Canyon Road at around 9:50 a.m. Sunday when the crash happened. The driver swerved suddenly and hit a curb. As a result, he crashed the vehicle, wrapping it around a light pole. He was pronounced dead at the scene. No other injuries were reported, and the road was temporarily shut down for the investigation.
Did You Know?
43% of fatal accidents in 2021 involved speeding on dirt roads, muddy roads, or roads with loose gravel.
Leaving The Scene of a Single-Vehicle Accident in San Antonio — Is It Legal?
Single-vehicle accidents happen when one vehicle crashes and no other cars are involved. There are a few classifications of single-vehicle accidents that add context when answering this commonly asked question.
- A car hits an animal or object in the road,
- A car hits a pedestrian,
- A car swerves to avoid hitting an object, pedestrian, or other vehicle and crashes,
- A car loses control and spins off the road.
Most people know that you have to stop for an accident that involves someone getting hurt or property being damaged. But what happens if you’re in a single-vehicle accident, no one is hurt, and your car only has minor damage?
Texas Transportation Code Chapter 550 Explained
Texas law states that a person must report a single-vehicle accident if their vehicle is damaged “to the extent that it cannot be normally and safely driven.” It also states that a law enforcement officer must make a report about an accident if a vehicle has $1,000 or more of damage.
So, if your vehicle is not damaged by more than $1,000 worth of repairs, and you weren’t injured, you technically don’t have to report the accident. But this only applies if you didn’t damage someone’s property (like a fence or a mailbox). If you damage property other than your own car, you have to report the accident.
Should I leave the Scene of a Single-Vehicle Accident in San Antonio?
If you meet the above criteria, you are technically allowed to leave the accident scene without reporting it. But this is not recommended. It’s important to remember that just because you were alone doesn’t mean you were the only one involved in the accident.
Adrenaline is pumping when you’re in an accident, even if you’re alone. This can impair your judgment, making you miss:
- Another vehicle involved in your accident,
- If some other factor on the roadway contributed to your accident.
Police may find something that places the blame for your accident on another party — but even if you are found at fault, your PIP coverage will still apply for any injuries. Collision coverage will also apply to any damage to your vehicle.
Injured in a Single-Vehicle Accident in San Antonio?
If you were seriously hurt in a single-vehicle accident in San Antonio, contact Carabin Shaw personal injury attorneys for a consultation. You may be entitled to collect damages from a third party for your injuries. To find out, contact the attorneys who put their clients first for a free consultation at 800-862-1260 or with the live chat at the bottom right of your screen. Contacting us for a consultation does not require you to work with our firm. We look forward to serving you.