Burned at Work in San Antonio
Every day, people in San Antonio and across the United States suffer from burn injuries, with a burn injury occurring approximately every 23 minutes. Of all types of injuries, burn injuries can be the most painful and most life-altering. A burn can leave you disfigured and unable to enjoy life as you did before the accident. Moreover, they require extensive medical treatment that can be a substantial financial burden.
If you or a loved one has suffered a burn injury due to another’s negligence in the workplace, they should pay for the damage they’ve caused. A San Antonio burn injury lawyer can be there to fight for you. Our Texas attorneys at Carabin Shaw have decades of experience fighting for burn victims to get them justice when they’ve undeservedly suffered.Questions and Answers Regarding Workplace Burns in San Antonio
Q: What can a lawyer do for me if I’ve suffered burn injuries in a workplace accident?
A: After suffering a burn injury at work in San Antonio, you should pursue compensation for the injuries and pain you’ve endured. Working with an attorney can help you maximize the potential of your case.
To win a burn injury lawsuit, you’ll need to prove how the responsible party was negligent and how their negligence led to your damages. To do this, you’ll have to build a convincing case based on sufficient evidence. Additionally, your case may require expert testimony. An experienced attorney will organize and ensure all of this information is taken care of.
Q: Who can be held responsible in a burn accident case at work?
A: Who is responsible for your accident depends on the circumstances of your case. Sometimes, your employer may be at fault if a negligent work policy is at the root of a fire. Other times, a fellow employee or supervisor could be at fault. If a malfunctioning product leads to your accident, the product manufacturer could be found liable for damages.
Q: What if I was partly responsible for the accident that caused my burns?
A: Texas is a modified comparative fault state, which means you can recover damages for an accident as long as you were less than 51% at fault. However, the damages you are awarded will be reduced according to the percentage you’re found at fault. For example, if you are found 20% at fault for an accident and are awarded $100,000 in a settlement, you would earn $80,000.
Q: Is there a time limit on when I can sue?
A: Yes. Burn injuries fall under the broader category of personal injury cases, which all have a window of time you’re allowed to file within known as “the statute of limitations.” In San Antonio, as in the rest of Texas, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of your accident.
Q: What kind of compensation may I be eligible for?
A: The kind of compensation you recover after being burned at work in San Antonio depends on who is at fault in your accident. If your direct employer is responsible for the accident, you can recover workers’ comp. However, if workers’ comp is not provided or someone other than your direct employer caused your accident, you can file a lawsuit to earn compensation.
When you file a lawsuit after a burn injury at work in San Antonio, you can may be entitled to the following damages:
- Medical bills
- Loss of income
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of consortium
Dealing with the aftermath of a burn injury is never easy. The pain and financial burden can be overwhelming. If you or a loved one has suffered a burn injury at work in San Antonio, you need a San Antonio burn injury lawyer on your side.Free Case Review
The Texas attorneys at Carabin Shaw are ready to fight on your behalf for the justice you deserve. For a free consultation, call today at 888-382-6269 or fill out our online form.