DUI Charges In Texas
Texas DUI LawsIn Texas, driving under the influence (DUI) is a charge that applies only to drivers who are under the age of 21. It says minors may not drive in Texas with any amount of alcohol in their bodies. In most cases, a DUI is a class C misdemeanor under Texas law, carrying a fine of up to $500 but no jail or prison time. However, minors convicted of a DUI may be sentenced to alcohol education classes, 20 to 60 hours of community service or probation. If you're convicted of DUI three or more times, you can be fined up to $2,000 and jailed for up to six months, along with other penalties. And of course, minors arrested for any DUI, regardless of whether it's a repeat offense, may have their driver's licenses take away at the arrest. Just as with adult DWI arrestees, they have only a limited time to contest a license suspension with the Department of Public Safety.
It's important to realize that DUI is a "zero tolerance" law. You don't have to be intoxicated, driving badly or have a blood-alcohol concentration of a certain amount to be charged. If a law enforcement officer smells alcohol, sees alcohol in the car or otherwise finds evidence that you've driven with alcohol in your system, you can be charged with a DUI.
It's important to treat a DUI charge like the serious matter it is. If you don't, you run the risk of entering adulthood with a criminal record that could haunt you for the rest of your life. You could also have your driver's license suspended for up to two years, depending on the circumstances. You should find experienced legal representation as soon as possible to head off these and other negative long-term results of a DUI conviction.
Prosecutors are tough on people charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs -- especially minors. But don't be intimidated. You can tip the balance of power back your way by hiring an experienced and skillful defense attorneys like Carabin Shaw attorneys. They know where to look for common flaws and weaknesses in the prosecution's case. They will put their experience to work right away in your case in order to get you the best possible outcome for your circumstances. Our office also offers a bail bond service and can advise you through the bail proceedings.
Located in San Antonio, Carabin Shaw attorneys represents clients in Bexar County and all surrounding areas that are charged with DWI, DUI and other drunken driving violations.
Contact Carabin Shaw today for experienced representation in driving while intoxicated (DWI) legal matters. We always offer free consultations to potential clients, so send us an email or call 210.222.2288.