Texas Laws About Dallas Auto Accidents | Personal Injury Attorney
There are many rules and regulations that govern the roads and drivers of Dallas, but understanding and memorizing them all can be difficult. If you are involved in a car accident in Dallas, you may need to utilize some of the laws in place to recover damages to offset the financial impact an auto accident can have. A Dallas car wreck lawyer can help you get the money you are entitled to under Texas law when you are injured by a negligent driver.
To understand some of the most important Texas laws about Dallas auto accidents more clearly, we will discuss some of the laws that most commonly impact everyday drivers.When to Report an Accident
You should always report a car accident in Dallas to the local police, but it is not required under Texas law unless the accident causes bodily injury or death, or the accident damages a vehicle to the point that it is unable to drive. You are not required by law to report minor accidents that do not result in injuries or incapacitated vehicles, but it is still legally advisable to report all accidents to the authorities.
Hiring a Texas personal injury attorney after an accident can be vital to the success of any potential personal injury claim resulting from the accident. Google search, “car accident lawyer near me” to find attorneys in your area who can help you in the wake of an accident.Texas Insurance Requirements
Texas is a “fault” state which means that drivers who cause accidents are financially responsible for the damage they cause. In most cases, this means that drivers are required to carry insurance in order to pay for any possible accidents and the property damage or bodily injury that can result.
The minimum insurance requirements for Texas are as follows:
- $30,000 per person involved in the accident to cover bodily injury
- $60,000 for total bodily injury when two or more people are involved in the accident
- $25,000 to cover property damage caused by the accident
This is the most basic coverage required in Texas and is known as “30/60/25” for short. It is important to note that if these policy limits are exceeded by the amount of damages created by the accident, you will be financially responsible for that excess amount. Contact a Dallas car wreck lawyer if you’ve been injured by a negligent driver and want to know your options for recovering damages.Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a law that creates a specific time-frame in which lawsuits can be filed. In Texas car accident cases, lawsuits and claims generally need to be filed within two years of the date of the accident, so do not hesitate to contact a Texas personal injury attorney after your accident or you may miss your opportunity to recover the damages you deserve. You can find an attorney by searching “car accident lawyer near me.”Modified Comparative Fault
Texas, as mentioned above, is a fault state. Under the rules of modified comparative fault, victims of accidents will be paid according to their own percentage of fault in the accident. This is determined based on available evidence from the accident scene, the initial accident report, eyewitness accounts, and other evidence presented by your lawyer during the lawsuit or claim.
For example, if the victim of an accident is determined to be 25% responsible for their accident and the total amount of damages awarded is $10,000, the victim will receive $7,500 because their percentage of fault is subtracted from the total amount of damages.You Can Rely on Carabin Shaw: Free Initial Consultation
After a car accident, you will need an experienced lawyer on your side. The team at Carabin Shaw has been helping people like you after car accidents for 28 years. Let us help you today with a free case review by calling 1-800-862-1260.