Texas Laws Regarding Motorcycles and Motorcycle Accidents
Motorcycles have many advantages over cars; they’re easier to park, they get more miles per gallon, and they’re less expensive. However, motorcycles can be very dangerous if safety precautions are not followed, and there are many legal requirements that must be met by all riders. If you’re a motorcyclist in the state of Texas—or are thinking about getting a motorcycle in the Lone Star state—it’s important to familiarize yourself with Texas laws regarding motorcycles and motorcycle accidents so that everyone on the road can stay safe. If you’re wondering, “Am I legally required to wear a motorcycle helmet?” or even “How do I find the best motorcycle accident lawyer near me in San Antonio?” then our expert San Antonio motorcycle accident lawyers at Carabin Shaw are here to help.What You Should Know About Texas Laws Regarding Motorcycles and Motorcycle Accidents: What are Texas’ Motorcycle Inspection Requirements?
In Texas, all registered motor vehicles—including motorcycles—must receive an annual inspection at an official motor vehicle inspection station. This inspection is meant to ensure that vehicles are safe and fully operational. Once your motorcycle has passed the inspection, you’ll receive a certificate that must be placed near your rear license plate. A full list of the inspection criteria for motorcycles can be found at the Texas Department of Public Safety Vehicle Inspection website.What are Texas’ Laws Regarding Motorcycle Helmets?
In Texas, all riders under 21 are required to wear a helmet when driving a motorcycle. Riders over age 21 are not required by law to wear a helmet as long as they have completed a course on motorcycle safety or if they have a health insurance plan that covers motorcycle accidents. However, our San Antonio motorcycle accident lawyers strongly suggest that all motorcyclists, regardless of age, wear a helmet to minimize the risk of death or traumatic brain injuries in the event of a crash.What are the Minimum Insurance Requirements for Motorcycles in Texas?
Texas requires “30/60/25” coverage as the minimum liability coverage for motorcycles. This means that drivers must be insured for a minimum of:
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage for each injured person in an accident
- $60,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
According to Texas law, no one under the age of five may ride as a passenger on a motorcycle. Passengers under 21 years of age are required by law to wear a helmet, and the motorcycle is required by law to have a permanent passenger seat.How Do I Find the Best Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Near Me in Texas?
If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle crash in Texas, you need a lawyer. However, not just any lawyer will do. In the aftermath of a motorcycle accident, it’s crucial to find an attorney who specializes in personal injury claims and who has extensive experience successfully handling motorcycle accident cases.
Motorcycle accident cases can be difficult to win for a multitude of reasons. For one, motorcycle accidents frequently result in soft tissue injuries—which do not appear on X-rays or MRIs, and can be difficult to prove. For another, many jurors and judges are unfairly biased against motorcyclists. So in order to prove your injuries, you will need a skilled attorney who has won these cases before. That’s where we come in.
Here at Carabin Shaw, our team has been specializing in motorcycle accident claims for more than two decades, and we’re here to help. Our attorneys have 200 years of combined legal experience and a passion for defending accident victims. For a free and confidential consultation with one of our expert attorneys—or simply to learn what our San Antonio motorcycle accident lawyers can do for you—call our San Antonio office today at 210-222-2288.