Truck Drivers and Safety Regulations | San Antonio Attorneys
Thousands of Texans make a living by driving commercial trucks, and a booming ecommerce industry means that the demand for professional truckers is higher than ever. If you live in the San Antonio area and are considering entering the trucking industry, it’s crucial that you know about the laws pertaining to Texas truck drivers and safety regulations governing truckers in our state. Fortunately, our team of expert San Antonio trucking injury lawyers at Carabin Shaw has compiled an overview of our state’s trucking laws. Read on to learn more about truck drivers and safety regulations in Texas.Hiring Qualifications for Potential Texas Truck Drivers
All truck drivers in Texas must meet certain requirements before they are even allowed to enroll in a truck driving educational program. Before enrolling in a truck driving course, Texans must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have a valid Social Security Card
- Have a Class-C driver’s license
- Be free of any warrants or pending criminal charges.
- Provide proof of a clean drug screening
- Provide a medical examination certificate
- Submit a completed driving abstract
- Pass a physical exam through the Department of Transportation
Once the above requirements are met, applicants must take a driver’s education course that consists of both classroom instruction and in-truck training so that they can gain the knowledge and experience needed to safely operate a commercial truck. Before receiving their commercial vehicle license, they must pass a written test and a skills test.Driving Limits for Texas Truck Drivers
Texas semi truck drivers must follow laws regarding the number of hours they can drive in a given day. This is because driving while fatigued is incredibly dangerous to everyone on the road, and greatly increases the risk of an accident.
In Texas, semi truck drivers cannot drive more than 11 hours in a single day. They must also take a 10 hour break in between each 11-hour shift. For drivers who are on duty but not continuously driving for a 14-hour period, they must not drive past the 14-hour mark.Need a San Antonio Truck Accident Lawyer? Our San Antonio Trucking Injury Lawyers are Here to Help!
If you have been hurt in a trucking accident in Texas, you likely have expensive medical bills and substantial property damage. Hiring a lawyer can help, because the right attorney can assist you in the process of filing a claim so you can receive compensation for your losses and get your life back on track following your wreck.
Since trucking accidents involve both state and federal laws and regulations, however, not just any attorney will do—you need to choose a specialized personal injury lawyer who has extensive experience handling trucking claims in your state. In fact, the lawyer you choose can ultimately be the factor that decides the outcome of your case—so it’s important to choose wisely. You need an attorney with the knowledge, resources, and experience to expertly handle your accident case. That’s where we come in.
Here at Carabin Shaw, our San Antonio truck accident lawyers have been handling big rig wrecks for two decades. Our team has a combined 200 years of legal experience, and we’ve recovered more than $500 million in compensation for our satisfied clients.
Best of all, we offer all new clients a no cost, no obligation consultation. So call Carabin Shaw’s San Antonio office today at 210-222-2288 to receive your free consultation, and to find out how a qualified San Antonio trucking injury lawyer can help.