Hit-and-Run Driver Arrested After Fleeing Bus Accident on I-35

hit-and-run, hit-and-run laws, when can i leave an accident scene, do I have to stay if I hit a car, when is it okay to leave a car accident, do I have to call the police for a car accident, when to call the police for car accident, car accident, fleeing the scene, Carabin Shaw, Carabin Shaw auto accident attorney, auto accident attorney san antonio, San Antonio, clients first, injury accident, injury help.

Fleeing the scene of an accident is illegal in Texas and can result in jail time.


Hit-and-Run Driver Arrested After Causing and Fleeing Bus Accident on I-35

According to a KSAT News report, a man was arrested after causing an accident on I-35 that seriously injured at least one individual on Friday evening.

Police reported the accident occurred at around 10:30 p.m. on Friday, April 12th, on I-35 northbound near Southcross Boulevard on the South Side. A man driving a Toyota Matrix fled his vehicle after he crashed into the center median of the highway, ending up in the center of the middle lane. A bus driving in the middle lane swerved to avoid striking the vehicle and ended up hitting a Chevrolet Silverado and a Toyota Corolla. A passenger in the Chevy was taken to the hospital with serious injuries. No other injuries were reported. The man was found by police and arrested for intoxication assault and failure to stop and render aid, resulting in serious bodily injury.

Did You Know?

If any person is injured in an accident in Texas, you are required to call the police.

Explained: When Do You Have To Call the Police After an Accident?

If you’ve been following our blog for any length of time, you’re probably aware that we advise calling the police after an accident. However, there are certain times when you are legally required to do so, and serious consequences will follow if you don’t.

Fortunately, there are clear-cut rules for when police involvement is required, and it’s not confusing to understand. Let’s take a look.

When to Call the Police After an Accident

According to the TxDOT, you must call the police after an accident if:

  • Someone is hurt or killed,
  • The vehicles are too damaged to move,
  • Vehicle damage exceeds $1,000.

You should also call the police if:

  • You suspect the other driver is drunk or on drugs,
  • The other driver has no insurance,
  • The driver flees the scene.

If you are able to move the vehicles off of the highway, do that after calling the police. If you’re not able to move the vehicles, turn on your hazard lights and raise your hood to increase visibility.

Consequences for Not Reporting an Accident

Failing to report an auto accident that results in injury, death, or over $1,000 in damage can result in:

  • A misdemeanor charge,
  • Driver’s license suspension,
  • And potential fines.

Additionally, lying to the police can also result in a misdemeanor charge, additional fines, and possibly imprisonment.

How Long Do I Have to File an Accident Report?

The crash report made by the responding officer must be sent to the TxDOT within 10 days of the accident. If no officer is sent to the accident scene, you must file the report within 10 days of the accident.

It is not recommended that you wait the full 10 days. Reports that are submitted promptly after your accident often have more credibility.

Injured in an Auto Accident? Call Carabin Shaw.

If you were hurt in an auto accident, or if you have more questions about your accident case, contact an expert auto accident attorney in Texas.

Carabin Shaw has represented those injured in auto accidents across Texas for over 30 years. We’re a trusted name in San Antonio because we put our clients first. Call the firm that cares for your auto accident case today at 800-862-1260, or use the live chat to schedule your free case evaluation. We look forward to serving you.

Contacting a Carabin Shaw attorney is free and does not obligate you to work with the firm.

¹KSAT Report

²TxDOT Resources

³Crash Reporting Information


Contact Information