Texas Statute of Limitations for Nursing Home Negligence
More than one million elderly Americans are abused or neglected by their caregivers each year. Despite laws requiring assisted living facilities to provide care that meets certain standards, many nursing homes fail to meet the legally mandated standard of care. And when the duty of care is breached because residents’ basic needs are not being met, the result is nursing home negligence. If you or a loved one has been affected by nursing home negligence in Corpus Christi, you may be wondering how much time you have to file a claim, or how to choose the right lawyer. Fortunately, our Corpus Christi elder abuse lawyers have compiled an overview of Texas’s statute of limitations pertaining to Corpus Christi nursing home negligence. Read on to learn more.What is a Statute of Limitations?
In legal terms, a statute of limitations is a law that determines the amount of time that a plaintiff has to file their claim and start a civil action after the start date of an alleged offense.
The statute of limitations on nursing home abuse varies from state to state, ranging from a period as short as one year to as long as six years. This means that the amount of time you have to file your nursing home negligence claim depends on what state the abuse occurred in. Depending on your state, you may need to act quickly in order to be able to file a claim.What is the Statute of Limitations for Nursing Home Negligence in Texas?
The Texas statute of limitations for nursing home negligence or abuse is only two years. Once the statute of limitations is expired, you no longer have the option to file a claim—meaning you are no longer eligible to receive compensation for your injuries or other damages.Victimized by Corpus Christi Nursing Home Negligence? Act Quickly, and Speak With a Lawyer Today
If you have been affected by nursing home negligence, you need to begin researching and consulting with Corpus Christi elder abuse lawyers as soon as possible. It takes time to find the right attorney and to get your claim filed, so you don’t want to wait until the statute of limitations is nearly up. Nursing home negligence claims are notoriously difficult to win for even the best nursing home negligence lawyers serving Corpus Christi—making your decision even more important. When choosing an attorney, you need to look for someone who has extensive experience handling elder abuse cases, someone with trial experience, and someone with a compassionate, professional demeanor.
If you’re looking for the best Corpus Christi attorneys, you should know that our team at Carabin Shaw has a combined 200 years of legal experience, and that we’ve been handling nursing home negligence claims for more than two decades. We’re proud of the fact that our law firm was named by the American Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys as one of the top ten best Texas personal injury firms in 2018 based on client satisfaction. And so far, we’ve recovered more than $500 million in compensation for our satisfied clients.Free Initial Consultation with a Carabin Shaw Attorney
If you’re ready to talk to a lawyer, you should know that Carabin Shaw offers all new clients a free, no obligation consultation—meaning you have absolutely nothing to lose by giving us a call and finding out what we can do for your potential claim. To schedule your free consultation with one of our Corpus Christi nursing home negligence lawyers, call our office serving Corpus Christi today at (361) 444-1111.
The Carabin Shaw Offices in Corpus Christi are located two blocks south of the Nueces County Courthouse in Corpus Christi, Texas.
Our Corpus Christi telephones are answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call 361.444.1111.