Understanding Texas Motorcycle Laws and Regulations
Here are some highlights of the motorcycle laws in Texas. Keep them in mind when riding in Texas for the safest and most rewarding experience!
Bikers love to ride in Texas. The great weather, and seemingly endless roads in a wide variety of terrain and scenery makes Texas among the most popular motorcycle riding destinations. For this reason, there are laws in place to protect the safety of bikers and motorcycle enthusiasts.Safety Equipment Regulations
Motorcycle laws in Texas resemble those in other states. Be sure to make a note of these regulations when riding in the state:
- Adult Riders over the age of 21 are not required to wear a helmet if either proof of completion of a motorcycle operator training course or proof of having private medical insurance can be shown.
- All riders under the age of 21 must wear a helmet.
- Daytime Headlight Use is required for all motorcycles built after 1975.
- There is no eye protection requirement.
- Helmet speakers are allowed.
All motorcycles are required to meet certain specifications before they can be ridden on Texas roads. These include mandatory turn signals (for models built in 1960 and newer) and handlebars cannot exceed 15” above the seat. Texas does accept motorcycle licenses issued in other states. Here are some other regulations to be aware of:
- To carry a passenger, there must be a seat for the passenger
- A footrest for the passenger is not required.
- All motorcycles must have regular safety inspections
- Mufflers are not required
- You must have no less than one rear-view mirror
- There are no noise/decibel restrictions
Helmets and eye protection are required for off road riding. No headlight or tail light requirements during daylight hours. You must have a muffler and a Spark Arrestor on your motorcycle when riding off road, and there are no noise restrictions.Minimum Insurance Required
It is required that all riders have liability insurance that covers:
- Injury coverage of a minimum $30,000 per injured person, and $60,000 for everyone injured in an accident
- Property Damage coverage minimum: $25,000
Our Motorcycle accident lawyers are experts in the riding laws and equipment requirements of this state. If you are in a motorcycle accident and have questions about your rights contact Carabin Shaw for a free consultation. 1.800.862.1260